Please enable Javascript for optimal viewing. For help, click here.


Skate Canada BC/YK Section 2017 Award Recipients and Hall of Fame Inductees

Wed, 10 May 2017

BURNABY, BC: Skate Canada BC/YK recognized award winners and inducteed new BC/YK Section Hall of Fame Members on May 6, 2017 at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre.

The recipients were presented with their awards on Saturday night at the annual awards banquet. The winners received their awards from various presenters, including, 2017 Canadian Silver Medalist and 2014 Olympic Silver Medalist Kevin Reynolds & 2013 Canadian Junior Ladies Champion and 2017 National Team Member Larkyn Austman.”

We are thrilled to induct the 2017 Inductees into the Skate Canada British Columbia/Yukon Hall of Fame. This is our fourth year of inductions this year recognizing 5 remarkable people who have spent much of their life contributing to building a strong, healthy and successful figure skating community in British Columbia,” said Ted Barton Skate Canada BC/YK Executive Director. “With this induction they are never to be forgotten for their contributions in building the landscape of figure skating in BC” Induction recognizes excellence in figure skating, contribution to figure skating and the impact on figure skating in British Columbia, in the categories of athlete, builder, coach and official. After extensive review, discussion and debate, the BC/YK Section Hall of Fame Committee submitted their recommendations to the BC/YK Section Board of Directors who approved the 2017 slate of inductees.

In the Athlete Category,
Donna Lee (Mitchell) Zaleski(Vancouver) & John Mitchell(Victoria)
Kathy Matousek(New Westminster)

In the Coach Category,
Jean Westwood(Victoria)

In the Builder Category,
Yvette Delcourt(Kelowna)

The Skate Canada National Awards Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.The 2017 recipients are:

  • Skate Canada Club Coach Award of Excellence
    Trevor Buttenham, Glengarry Skating Club(Penticton), Okanagan Region
  • Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence
    Joanne McLeod, Champs International Skating Centre of BC(Burnaby), BC Coast Region
  • Skate Canada Section Officials Award 
    Debbie Mandryk, Cranbook Skating Club, Kootenay Region
  • Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence Award 
    Diane Kamagianis, Mission Skating Club, BC Coast Region
  • Audrey Moore Participation Award
    Wendy Martin-Stroyan, Abbotsford SC, BC Coast Region
  • CanSkater of the Year Award
    Lincoln Dodyk, Northern BC Centre for Skating, CNCR Region
  • Program Assistant of the Year
    Keara Anutooshkin, Glengarry Skating Club(Penticton), Okanagan Region
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Elizabeth Iannone, Beaver Valley Skating Club(Fruitvale), Kootenay Region
  • STARSkate Athlete of the Year
    Andrea Beattie, Campbell River Skating Club, Vancouver Island Region
  • Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence
    Lorraine Mapoles, Mt. Boucherie Skating Club(West Kelowna), Okanagan Region
  • Adult Skating Award
    Joanne Krisko, Lower Mainland Synchronized Skating Club, BC Coast Region
  • Skate Canada Competitive Skate Athlete Award 
    Sarah Tamura, Champs International Skating Centre of BC, BC Coast Region
  • Skate Canada Section Volunteer Coach Award
    Sharon Chow, Quesnel Skating Club, CNC Region
  • BC/YK Section Volunteer Award
    Carol Geisbrecht, Mile Zero Skating Club(Dawson Creek), CNC Region
  • Coaches Choice Award
    Judy Burwash, Sandy Shores Skating Club(Parksville), Vancouver Island Region
  • Susan Griffith Committee Chairman Award
    Laura Carr, Kelowna Skating Club, Okanagan Region
  • Female Youth Promise Award
    Daria Carr, Kelowna Skating Club, Okanagan Region
  • Ice Dance Youth Promise Award
    Miku Makita & Tyler Gunara, Champs International Skating Centre of BC (Burnaby), BC Coast Region
  • Male Youth Promise Award
    Wesley Chiu, Connaught Skating Club(Richmond), BC Coast Region
  • BC/YK Section Skaters Award of Achievement
    Kate Thompson, Coquitlam Skating Club, BC Coast Region
  • Elizabeth Swan Award
    Kortney Story, Aldergrove Skating Club, BC Coast Region

Photos from the evening can be found by clicking here.