Becoming a Figure Skating Judge/Evaluator

Judges/evaluators are former skaters. Candidates who wish to become qualified to judge/ evaluate, must attend Skate Canada approved clinics, trial judge and pass a written and/or video identification exam at each level. Each discipline of skating, singles, pair, dance and synchronized skating requires individualized training.

Training will begin with attendance at a Primary Clinic.  Contact your Region Training Representative listed on the Judges Committee if you are interested in pursuing this rewarding volunteer activity. 

Where Judges Start

A judge will progress through the system starting as a Primary Competitive Judge in STAR categories, and may also begin training as an evaluator for Primary level STARSkate tests. While judges officiate at competitions, evaluators assess skills at test days, working with the skaters and coaches applying test standards to the skaters' performances.

Competitive Judging

Section Judge

A judge begins to judge competitions at the Inter-club or Juvenile level and advances to the Senior Sectional level. Progress from one level to the next is determined by the judge's activity, success at the previous level, attendance at training seminars, passing the appropriate written exam and technical knowledge.  

Canadian Judge

To qualify as a Canadian Championship judge, the candidate must have been a Senior Sectional Championship Judge for at least one year and have judged successfully in at least two Sectional Championships and one Challenge Championship, attended training clinics and passed exams required by Skate Canada.  

International Judge

A judge may be nominated to become an International judge after she or he has been a Canadian Championship judge for at least two years, passed the appropriate Skate Canada examinations and attended at least one national or international seminar. International judges must conform to the requirements as set by the ISU. International judges must be less than 50 years old when first appointed and retirement is mandatory at age 70.  

ISU Judge

The highest level a judge can attain is that of the ISU Championships judge. These judges are eligible to judge at World and Olympic Championships. The judge must have a minimum of three years experience as an international judge, pass the required examinations and conform to the ISU requirements.